PPW Letter Thanking Legislators for Support of IDNR Sustainaiblity Bill

June 12, 2012

Dear Legislator,

On behalf of the Partners for Parks and Wildlife, we would like to thank you for your vote in favor of SB1566, the Illinois Department of Natural Resources sustainability package. PPW is a coalition of groups from throughout Illinois who advocate on behalf of land acquisition funding and support for our parks and open space, including conservation organizations, local governments, recreation groups, sportsmen coalitions and environmental advocacy groups.

PPW applauds your vote to support the Department at this critical juncture.  IDNR has a critical role in managing the natural resources of the state of Illinois.  Our state relies on IDNR to keep state parks open and continue vital programs that protect our water supply, public safety, and wildlife.  SB1566 spreads the burden of protecting our natural resources in a thoughtful and fair manner to individuals, organizations, and businesses that use these resources.  SB1566 will provide $32.7 million in new revenue to IDNR, protected by anti-sweeps language.

This legislation came a few votes short of passing the Senate in the waning hours of the session. Passing this legislation without delay is important. We appreciate your continued support.

Thank you again for your yes vote in favor of IDNR and management of our state’s natural resources.


Partners for Parks and Wildlife


Kent Adams, Regional Biologist, National Wild Turkey Federation
Ed Barsotti, Executive Director, League of Illinois Bicyclists

Scott Bryant, Migratory Waterfowl Hunters
Steve Buchtel, Executive Director, Trails for Illinois
Lenore Beyer-Clow, Policy Director, Openlands
Angelo Capparella, Conservation Chair, John Wesley Powell Audubon Society
Mike Clifford, Conservation Director, Illinois Smallmouth Alliance
Glynnis Collins, Executive Director, Prairie Rivers Network
Donnie Dann, Executive Committee Member, Bird Conservation Network
Jack Darin, Executive Director, Illinois Sierra Club
Susan Donovan, Director of Government Relations, The Nature Conservancy in Illinois
Johanna Garsenstein, Chicago Project Manager, Land Trust Alliance, Inc
Lorna Gladstone, President, Boone Creek Watershed Alliance
Lisa Haderlein, Executive Director, The Land Conservancy of McHenry County
Kevin Ivers, Board President, McHenry County Conservation District

Cindi Jablonski, Vice President McHenry County Conservation Foundation
Elizabeth S. Kessler, Executive Director, McHenry County Conservation District
Aaron K. Kuehl, Director of Conservation Programs, Pheasants Forever and Quail Forever
Howard Learner, Executive Director, Environmental Law and Policy Center
Judith Lihota, President, Calumet Ecological Park Association
Mary Lou Mellon, Vice President, Bird Conservation Network
Peter Murphy, President/CEO, Illinois Association of Park Districts
Jerry Pagac, Executive Director, Champaign County Forest Preserve District
Justin Pepper, Acting Director, Audubon Chicago Region
Arnold Randall, General Superintendent, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
Peter Veit, Director of: Horsemen’s Council of IL, IL Trail Rider, Trail Riders of DuPage, IL Equine Industry Research & Promotion Board
Jennifer Walling, Executive Director, Illinois Environmental Council
Elizabeth White, Trust for Public Land


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s